Imperial College London Logo
Centre for Bioinformatics
Division of Molecular Biosciences
Faculty of Natural Sciences

HOME ABOUT MSc / PhD JOBS RESEARCH SUPPORT SEMINARS OUTREACH LINKS CONTACT
Bioinformatics Research at Imperial

Bioinformatics research at Imperial is co-ordinated via a network of Affiliates. Below we list the groups that have a strong component of Bioinformatics in their research profile. In addition, we identify co-ordinating bodies at Imperial that are also Affiliated to the Bioinformatics Centre to represent the Bioinformatics interests of their members.

Adams Balding Balloux Bangham Barahona Burt Butcher Christophides Coulson Colton Darlington Dell Endres Ferguson Fraser Froguel Gould Guo Hand Haslam Howard Ioiro Jensen Krishnan Montana Muggleton Pinney Polleri Przulj Purvis Richardson Rzepa Scott Sergot Spratt Stark Sternberg Stumpf Tristem Vogler Yang

 

Computer Science

Professor John Darlington
Research interests: High Performance Computing, e-Science and the Grid
Email:
j.darlington@imperial.ac.uk WWW: http://www.lesc.ic.ac.uk/

Dr Simon Colton
Research interests: Machine learning, artificial intelligence, ontologies
Email:
sgc@doc.ic.ac.uk WWW: http://www.doc.ic.ac.uk/~sgc/research/

Professor Yike Guo
Research interests: Machine Learning & Data
Email:
y.guo@imperial.ac.uk WWW: http://www.doc.ic.ac.uk/~yg/

Professor Stephen H Muggleton
Research interests: Machine learning, Inductive Logic Programming, Protein Structure prediction, Functional Genomics
Email:
shm@doc.ic.ac.uk WWW: http://www.doc.ic.ac.uk/~shm/cbl.html

Dr Natasa Przulj
Research interests: Graph theory, mathematical modeling, and computational techniques to solving large-scale problems in computational and systems biology
Email:
natasha@imperial.ac.uk WWW: http://www.doc.ic.ac.uk/~natasha/

Professor Marek Sergot
Research interests: Automated reasoning applied to problems in bioinformatics
Email:
mjs@doc.ic.ac.uk WWW: http://www.doc.ic.ac.uk/~mjs/

Professor Guang-Zhong Yang
Research interests: biomolecular modelling
Email:
gzy@doc.ic.ac.uk WWW: http://vip.doc.ic.ac.uk

 

DNA and protein sequence analysis (including phylogenetics)

Professor Austin Burt
Research interests: Evolution of nonMendelian genetic elements; population and evolutionary genomics of yeasts
Email:
a.burt@imperial.ac.uk WWW: http://www3.imperial.ac.uk/people/a.burt

Professor Andy Purvis
Research interests: Inferring evolutionary processes from phylogenetic patterns
Email:
a.purvis@imperial.ac.uk WWW: http://www.bio.ic.ac.uk/research/apurvis/ajpurvis.htm

Dr Mike Tristem Research interests: retroviral and retroelement evolution, mutation detection, adaptive evolution Email: m.tristem@imperial.ac.uk WWW: http://www.bio.ic.ac.uk/research/mtristem/tristem.htm

Dr Alfried Vogler
Research interests: Comparative genomics and molecular systematics of insects
Email:
a.vogler@imperial.ac.uk WWW: http://www3.imperial.ac.uk/people/a.vogler

 

Genetics and genomics

Dr François Balloux (Reader in Infectious Disease Genetics)
Research interests: Spatial genetic epidemiology of humans and human pathogens
Email:
f.balloux@imperial.ac.uk WWW: http://www1.imperial.ac.uk/medicine/people/f.balloux/

Dr Tim N Coulson- Division of Biology
Research interests: Population biology; evolutionary demography, General Biology, Mathematical Biology
Email:
t.coulson@imperial.ac.uk WWW: http://www.bio.ic.ac.uk/research/coulson/

Professor Neil Ferguson- Division of Primary Care & Population Health Sciences, Medicine
Research interests: Mathematical modelling of pathogen population dynamics and evolution
Email:
neil.ferguson@imperial.ac.uk WWW: http://www1.imperial.ac.uk/med/people/neil.ferguson.html

Dr Christophe Fraser
Research interests: Evolution and epidemiology of pathogens using genetics and mathematics
Email:
c.fraser@imperial.ac.uk WWW: http://www.imperial.ac.uk/med/people/c.fraser.html

Professor Philippe Froguel
Research interests: Genome annotation; genomic studies including SNP analyses and microarray analysis
Email:
p.froguel@imperial.ac.uk WWW: http://mail-good.pasteur-lille.fr/

Dr Hector Keun- Division of Epidemiology, Public Health and Primary Care
Research interests: Bayesian hierarchical models, variable selection, modelling genetic and genomic data
Email:
h.keun@imperial.ac.uk WWW: http://www3.imperial.ac.uk/people/h.keun

Dr Alexander M Lewin- Division of Epidemiology, Public Health and Primary Care
Research interests: Omics data mining and modelling for biomarker discovery
Email:
a.m.lewin@imperial.ac.uk WWW: http://www.bgx.org.uk/alex/

Dr John Pinney- Theoretical Systems Biology Group
Research interests:Computational systems biology, function and evolution of biological networks
Email:
j.pinney@imperial.ac.uk WWW: http://www.imperial.ac.uk/people/j.pinney

Professor James Scott, FRS - IC Genetics and Genomics Research Institute
Research interests: Genetics & Genomics
Email:
j.scott@imperial.ac.uk WWW: http://www.icggri.ic.ac.uk

Professor Brian BG Spratt, FRS
Research interests: Characterisation of isolates of bacterial pathogens via the Internet (multilocus sequence typing)
Email:
b.spratt@imperial.ac.uk WWW: http://www.mlst.net

Professor Michael P.H. Stumpf
Research interests: Complex biological networks; probabilistic methods in functional and comparative genomics
Email:
m.stumpf@imperial.ac.uk WWW: http://www.imperial.ac.uk/theoreticalsystemsbiology

 

High throughput 'omics methodologies

Dr George Christophides
Research interests: comparative genomics and high throughput 'omics methodologies
Email:
g.christophides@imperial.ac.uk WWW: http://www3.imperial.ac.uk/people/g.christophides

Professor Anne Dell, FRS
Research interests: mass spectrometric sequencing of biopolymers; proteomics, glyco-proteomics and glycomics
Email:
a.dell@imperial.ac.uk WWW: http://www3.imperial.ac.uk/people/a.dell

Dr Tim Ebbels- Division of Biomedical Sciences, Faculty of Medicine
Research interests: Multivariate data analysis applied to post-genomic technologies (metabolomics, transcriptomics, proteomics)
Email:
t.ebbels@imperial.ac.uk WWW: http://www3.imperial.ac.uk/people/t.ebbels

Dr Stuart Haslam
Research interests: high sensitivity mass spectrometric analysis, structural analysis of glycoconjugates
Email:
s.haslam@imperial.ac.uk WWW: http://www.imperial.ac.uk/people/s.haslam

 

Maths and Statistics

Dr Niall Adams
Research interests: statistical methods for classification and data mining
Email:
n.adams@imperial.ac.uk WWW: http://stats.ma.ic.ac.uk/n/nadams/public_html/

Dr Becca Asquith - Division of Investigative Science
Research interests:Mathematical immunology, Lymphocyte dynamics, Cytotoxic T lymphocyte, HIV-1 and HTLV-I
Email:
b.asquith@imperial.ac.uk WWW: http://www1.imperial.ac.uk/medicine/people/r.asquith/

Professor David J Balding
Research interests: Disease gene mapping, population genetics, molecular evolution
Email:
d.balding@imperial.ac.uk WWW: http://www1.imperial.ac.uk/medicine/people/d.balding/

Professor Charles Bangham
Research interests: Mathematical modelling and bioinformatics of persistent viral infections and the antiviral immune response
Email:
c.bangham@imperial.ac.uk WWW: http://www1.imperial.ac.uk/medicine/about/divisions/is/immuno/stmarys/htlv/

Dr Mauricio Barahona - Department of Bioengineering
Research interests: Biomathematics and dynamical systems
Email:
m.barahona@imperial.ac.uk WWW: http://www.bg.ic.ac.uk/staff/barahona/

Professor Henrik J Jensen
Research interests: The evolution of interacting networks through mutation and adaptation
Email:
h.jensen@imperial.ac.uk WWW: http://www.ma.ic.ac.uk/~hjjens

Professor David J Hand
Research interests: Statistical and machine learning methods
Email:
d.j.hand@imperial.ac.uk WWW: http://www3.imperial.ac.uk/people/d.j.hand

Dr Maria de Iorio
Research interests: Bayesian statistics in bioinformatics and biostatistics
Email:
m.deiorio@imperial.ac.uk WWW: http://www1.imperial.ac.uk/medicine/people/m.deiorio/

Dr Giovanni Montana
Research interests: statistical genetics and bioinformatics
Email:
g.montana@imperial.ac.uk WWW: http://stats.ma.ic.ac.uk/g/gmontana/public_html/ http://www.icbiostatistics.org.uk/

Dr Alberto Polleri
Research interests:Quantitative Systems Biology, mathematical modeling of biological systems by integration of theory and experimentation
Email:
alberto.polleri@imperial.ac.uk WWW: http://qsb.csc.mrc.ac.uk/

Professor Sylvia Richardson
Research interests: Hierarchical Bayesian models, MCMC algorithms, clustering, microarray data analysis
Email:
sylvia.richardson@imperial.ac.uk WWW: http://www.med.ic.ac.uk/divisions/60/biointro2.asp

Professor Jaroslav Stark
Research interests: Mathematical modelling of biological systems
Email:
j.stark@imperial.ac.uk WWW: http://www.ma.ic.ac.uk/~jstark/

 

Structural Approaches

Dr Ian Gould - Biological and Biophysical Chemistry
Research interests: Development and application of simulation methods for bological systems
Email:
i.gould@imperial.ac.uk WWW: http://dumb.ch.ic.ac.uk/

Dr Henry S Rzepa
Research interests: Quantum chemical modelling, XML, Semantic Web
Email:
h.rzepa@imperial.ac.uk WWW: http://www.ch.ic.ac.uk/rzepa/informatics/

Professor Michael J E Sternberg
Research interests: Structural bioinformatics especially protein modelling
Email:
m.sternberg@imperial.ac.uk WWW: http://www.sbg.bio.ic.ac.uk

 

Support and Training

Dr Sarah Butcher - Imperial College Bioinformatics Support Service
Research interests: Providing Bioinformatics coordination, support and training to researchers
Email:
s.butcher@imperial.ac.uk WWW: http://www.codon.bioinformatics.ic.ac.uk/

 

Theoretical Biophysics

Dr J Krishnan
Research interests: Mathematical and computational modelling of cell signalling networks, systems approaches for understanding cellular signal transduction
Email:
j.krishnan@imperial.ac.uk WWW: http://www3.imperial.ac.uk/people/j.krishnan

Dr Robert Endres
Research interests: Biological physics, modelling of sensing and signalling
Email:
r.endres@imperial.ac.uk WWW: http://www.imperial.ac.uk/people/r.endres

 

Last Modified 3 March 2009